CWE and Selection Process for Nationalised Banks


Selection in 20 Nationalised Banks is by way of a three stage process:

  • Stage I. Common Written Exam (CWE) – Preliminary by IBPS
  • Stage II. Common Written Exam (CWE) – Main by IBPS
  • Stage III. Personal Interview conducted by the Participating Organisations and coordinated by the Nodal Bank in each State / UT with the help of IBPS.

l. Common Written Exam (CWE) by IBPS (Institute of Banking Personnel Selection)

A. Participating Banks

IBPS periodically conducts separate Common Written Examinations [CWE] for i) Recruitment of Probationary Officers(PO)/ Management Trainees (MT) and for ii) Recruitment In Clerical Cadre in 20 Public Sector / Nationalised and Other Participating Banks. Together these banks have about 55% of the total Banking Business in India and about 50% of the staff. The names of these banks are as follows:

1. Allahabad Bank
2. Andhra Bank
3. Bank of Baroda
4. Bank of India
5. Bank of Maharashtra
6. Canara Bank
7. Central Bank of India
8. Corporation Bank
9. Dena Bank
10. IDBI Bank
11. Indian Bank
12. Indian Overseas Bank
13. Oriental Bank of Commerce
14. Punjab National Bank
15. Punjab & Sind Bank
16. Syndicate Bank
17. UCO Bank
18. Union Bank of India
19. United Bank of India
20. Vijaya Bank
21. Other banks or financial
       institutions like ECGC, EXIM        Bank consenting to participate        in the process

B. CWE: Major Events and Time Frame

A typical time-frame for major events involved in the process of CWE is as follows: